Poets logo

In The Flames

Discovering my Fire

By Judey Kalchik Published 3 years ago 1 min read
In The Flames
Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

Remembering the fire I so firmly

Steadily

Determinedly

(Hopelessly)

Snuffed out

I was not prepared to feel warmed anew.

Before,

the flame burnt cold.

Icy Blue.

I was always aware of

Holding

My

Breath

Afraid a word from me would blow it out.

I bound my will to serving the fire,

Coaxing

Pleading

Promising

(Dying)

Glad of the fickle warmth I grudgingly received.

Until the demand of the flames grew

Harsh

Demanding

Hurting

Charring

I had no fuel left

To feed it, and still live.

Now I alone, but somehow warmer,

Finally

Freely

Deeply

Breathing

Counting it a trade well done

I chose life not fickle light.

Pretending I’d not miss the sun.

Striding fast

No looking back

(Fleeing)

I stopped feeding the fire my life.

Resigned to the cold.

Wrapping tight against the chill

Defiant

Proud

(Denying)

Afraid to say I missed the demands of the flames.

Because even bondage is belonging.

How could it be I did not know

Within myself

Flickering

Steady

(Waiting)

I had a spark of my own.

Waiting for darkness enough to be seen.

Until I felt it leap to life,

Trembling

Wavering

Cautiously reaching

Is now the time?

Is this a safe place to grow and feel the warmth inside me find its way?

With wondering spirit I ask and answer

See the light?

Glow?

Chasing chill

Fear and emptiness

I reach in wonder towards the flames

I touch them and find I am not burned.

inspirational

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Great job Judey!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Left a heart two years ago!!! Re-read and still loving it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    So powerful and well written Judey! The ending is especially awesome

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Here is your episode https://vocal.media/01/episode-3-poems-on-human-experiences

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I'm in love. I am so honored to read this on the podcast!

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    The burning question now on my mind is completely centred around your astrology signs! I’m all fire….. from my Chinese year… To my western sun and moon signs. Fire, fire, fire!!! I particularly enjoyed the story / journey your poem walked me through ❤️🙏 Great work Judey

Judey Kalchik Written by Judey Kalchik

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.