Poets logo

In The Early Hours

A garden at dawn

By Niall James BradleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
In The Early Hours
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

In the early hours, of a summer’s day,

I stand and admire, though my toes get wet,

Watching swirls of mist and fresh daylight play,

As sunbeams are snared, in the spider’s net.

The scent of blossom, from apple and ‘thorn,

Fertile white flowers, gather in the bee,

The strengthening light, drowns forever the dawn,

As I take a sip, of my morning tea.

A flash of yellow, of the blackbird’s beak,

Gains my attention, makes my movements pause,

As he hops from log, to soil to seek,

The juiciest worm, to add to his cause.

In early morning, I breathe in the scent,

Take in the flowers, which are Heaven sent.

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Niall James Bradley

I am a teacher who lives in the north west of England. I write about many subjects, but mainly I write non-fiction about things that interest me, fiction about what comes into my head and poetry about how I feel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.