Poets logo

In the Deep

Where I Fell

By Tales from a MadmanPublished about a year ago 2 min read
2
In the Deep
Photo by Mohammad Alizade on Unsplash

In the Deep.

The sun does not reach. The corridor is perceived only through the mind's understanding of the blur between light and dark. My footsteps echo deep into the nowhere before me.

Beneath the world, I wander, walking an endless corridor at an involuntary pace. My footsteps relentlessly echo at me as I press into or beyond this world.

Yet my senseless persistence leaves me wanting for not more than a single sight, an image etched into my reality, an existing article for my perception, an occurrence. I wish for anything.

When I Fell.

I raced for a way out. Ceaselessly, I trudged forward into a hazy nothing. I desperately sought a path back to the surface. I believed I was on my way home. Instead, limbo draws me ever on into abyss. My feet carry themselves as my senses gradually dull.

I never noticed the olfactory sense go. It was only when the echoes began to fade that I realized I could smell no more. Eventually, after the echoes were gone and no sound remained, I numbed. From toe to top, I slowly lost the sensations of movement. The soles of my feet feel no pressure. My hands sense no air against them, and I no longer sense them.

Bleary is this existence. I sense through an impenetrable twilight the vague action of my motion, but I have doubt. Imperceptible eons have passed since I fell. My mind plays tricks now. Sounds or glimpses from and of nothing haunt me. My soul clings to imagination as its last respite before I hopefully cease altogether. I have forsaken hopes of home to accept this fate and lie to rest.

Where I Fell.

By Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

I hope you enjoyed this brief dive in the mind of a Madman. If so, please show it with a heart.

If you wish to read more like this, check out my other stories here on Vocal and subscribe for more to come.

If you wish to discuss this or any of my other stories, stop by my Facebook page at Tales from a Madman. Let me know what you think and what else you would like to see. While you're there you can explore some Haunting History and more macabre.

If you seek what lies outside the scope granted you by this mundane existence, such as the blur between our physical selves and the spirit that wanders beyond, then you should bring an open mind to us at Third Eye Fourth Dimension on Facebook.

Good Fortune to You

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Tales from a Madman

@TalesFromAMadman

.. the figure in question had out-Heroded Herod, and gone beyond the bounds of even the Prince's indefinite decorum.

The Masque of the Red Death

Edgar Allan Poe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.