Poets logo

In the Back of My Mind you Die

A Poem of Loss and Grief

By VPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

In the back of my mind, you die,

A haunting thought that won't subside.

It creeps in like a foggy mist,

A cruel reminder that you'll be missed.

Your laughter echoes in my head,

But now I fear it soon will shed

Into a memory I can't erase,

A hollow reminder of your face.

I try to push the thought away,

But it's a constant price to pay.

A weight that sits upon my chest,

A feeling that won't let me rest.

I see you in my dreams at night,

But then I wake to morning's light,

And the reality sets in once more,

That you're gone, forevermore.

The world seems darker without you here,

A little less bright, a little more clear.

That life is fragile, it can't be denied,

And in the back of my mind, you died.

I wish that I could turn back time,

To when your life was still in its prime,

And hold you close, never let go,

And never have to feel this sorrow.

But time moves on, and so must I,

Though it hurts to say goodbye.

In the back of my mind, you die,

But in my heart, you'll never die.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

V

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.