Poets logo

In the Arms of My Hero

From Daughter to Her Military Father

By Teddi ColemanPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

That day when you first held me in your arms,

We had a connection, a strong bond.

You are my king, my hero, my protector.

Laughter, joy, and happiness at times,

But there were bumps in the roads.

We have made mistakes, yet we learned from them.

I am who I am because of you.

In younger times, you were not there sometimes.

Off to protect me and those among us.

The chain of time becomes shorter and shorter.

Anxiously waiting for you to come back home,

And hold me in your arms.

Phone calls and letters and packages with the world inside,

When you were gone,

You were thinking of me.

My hero is the one I love,

I know that will not change.

One look in your eyes,

And I know that everything will fine.

Laughing at the things we do,

Making memories to tell later,

This is what I admire.

Raising me to be mature, lovable, and strong.

As a young adult, moments will change,

But my love for you won’t change.

It is part of growing up.

As a child, I was your princess,

Waiting for her king to arrive.

Even though her king was off in another world.

Dancing on your feet,

Sharing precious moments while we can.

Tucking me into bed,

Reading me stories at night,

And off to happy sweet dreams.

Proud to call you my father,

My hero,

My king,

Loving to be held in my hero’s arms.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Teddi Coleman

a social worker. a teacher. taking one step at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.