Poets logo

In roots of Maple tree

to my love

By Salomé SaffiriPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
10
In roots of Maple tree
Photo by Ricardo Martins on Unsplash

I placed you, tightly wrapped in shirt,

In roots of maple tree

When it’s my time to lie in dirt

I hope you’ll wait for me

*

I think through heavy clouds of grief

Of things that we’ve been through..

Your soul glides down as maple leaf;

Of course I’ll wait for you

*

I listen with the opened mind

Past what the eye can see

For answer that I hope to find:

I hope you’ll wait for me

*

Your body lies in roots beneath,

Caressed by morning dew

You whisper in the summer breeze

Of course I’ll wait for you

*

Like wind that rustles in the trees

Your soul is running free

Unbound by body, filled with ease

I know you'll wait for me

sad poetryOdenature poetrylove poemsheartbreakGratitudeFriendshipFamilyElegy
10

About the Creator

Salomé Saffiri

Writing - is my purpose. I feel elated when my thoughts assume shapes, and turn into Timberwolves, running through the snowbound planes of fresh paper, leaving the black ink of their paw prints behind.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • E.K. Daniels3 months ago

    “Your soul glides down in maple leaf”—what beautiful imagery and metaphor. Lovely piece.

  • Awww, Lisa 🥺❤️ Your poem was so poignantly beautiful! I loved it with all my heart!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    This is a beautiful, lyrical elegy, Salome! Absolutely heartbreaking. 😢

  • Alyssa Nicole3 months ago

    This is such a lovely and heartfelt dedication. Your writing is beautiful!

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Beautifully conceived.

  • J3 months ago

    I don't know why your work keeps reminding me of her (yes, I do), but another Ani song popped into my head reading this. 'Hearse', this time. Thank you for moving me, yet again.

  • Beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.