Poets logo

In Praise of Toast

An Ode to Elevated Bread

By Natalie WilkinsonPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
5
In Praise of Toast
Photo by Sharon Waldron on Unsplash

Strophe-Bread and Its Potential

A slice of bread in truth transformed,

By judicious application of heat,

Breakfast has anew been born,

That sets me on my feet.

This humble slice of white bread,

Buttered on one side,

And thickly spread with raspberry red,

Holds back my appetite's tide.

A cup of coffee completes the task,

No more from breakfast, do I ask.

Antistrophe -The Toaster and the Toastee

The toaster also deserves some praise,

For always at my whim,

The humble slice of bread reglaze,

With brown, top-layered hymn.

The setting is important too,

And must be checked each time.

Alas, I live with people who,

Like theirs burned, which is a crime.

This forces me to stay awake,

And keep my vigilance to partake.

Epode-Further Praise of Toast and My Final Argument

When looking through the cupboard,

And finding it nearly bare,

A heel of bread though stale and old,

May be renewed as toast, to hold,

A starving artist from the brink,

Of alternate, nothing for breakfast, I think.

And on those days of homemade buns,

Can raise the daybreak to the sun.

Allowing my argument, you will now agree

That toast of praise is frankly worthy.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

An ode written for Vocal Media Challenge “Ode to Ordinary”.

Thanks for reading my words. May your toast ever emerge lightly browned.

By Seriously Low Carb on Unsplash

humor
5

About the Creator

Natalie Wilkinson

Writing. Woven and Printed Textile Design. Architectural Drafting. Learning Japanese. Gardening. Not necessarily in that order.

IG: @maisonette _textiles

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    Never have I read a piece of poetry that has described bread so well. Lovely read! Thank you.

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    I love the structure here, I am convinced, though not about your housemates.

  • Toast is so underrated! This was such a wonderful ode!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    So comically dazzling and perfectly structured! Nice work. I love toast!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Fantastic ode to toast!!! Loving it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.