Poets logo

"IN MY DREAMS"

"DRAMA, ROMANCE, TRAVEL, PEOPLE THEN I WAKE UP ALONE"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 5 months ago 2 min read
5
VIDEO & PHOTOGRAPHY BY VICKI TRUSSELLI

In my dreams,

I lay here in my bed, in my room.

I listen to music.

I watch TV in my room,

the movies,

the candles,

the sage,

the incense,

I dream of worlds out of sight.

I dream of people on Zoom.

I dream of people I don't know.

So,

I say to myself,

In my dreams I create dramas.

I see death.

I see love.

I see and hear conversations between people,

who are surreal,

As I lay in bed asleep,

but so, awake in my dreams and schemes,

of a reality of making love in my dream.

I dream of parties,

of food,

of eating,

of drinking,

of walking,

of running,

of living,

of mafia dreams,

so, it seems,

the meanings behind

my movie dreams do not fit the mold,

of dream interpretation so I have been told.

I travel in my dreams,

to other countries,

other cities,

hang out with strangers,

but in my dream,

we are friends not strangers.

Sometimes my late mom and dad visit me in my dreams.

We talk.

We hug.

We say let's go for a drive.

So, my pop takes the wheel,

as we drive to survive

through time and space of life,

alternate realities of time

and space.

We live every day.

We go to sleep every day.

I go to sleep to dream of adventure,

with friends as we walk through the dream world,

of projection, vapor, and magic.

Then I woke up.

Thank God we were caught in traffic!

Only I fell back to sleep,

to be sitting in the same car,

the same friends,

as we are moving slowly.

Then the car has wings and

we fly,

over the cars and across the mountains.

Then we landed the car on the beach.

We step out of the car,

to walk through the sand,

across the land.

The dream ends as I kiss my lover,

under the cover.

There we are together forever.

We kiss.

We sigh.

We love our life,

at night,

as we dream together forever,

in our mystical movie dreams.

Then I wake up,

The sun is shining,

The bird is tweeting,

and I am alone again in my reality 2024.

WRITTEN BY

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

JANUARY 2, 2023

VIDEO & PHOTOGRAPHY BY THE AUTHOR

MUSIC COURTESY OF THE LATE

AMY WINEHOUSE

"I WAKE UP ALONE."

A.I. WAS THE ASSISTANT ARTIST

.

Senryusurreal poetryProseFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
5

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Great poem.

  • I feel most of us would be able to relate to this to some degree. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.