Poets logo

In my Corner of my World

I am most comfortable with my own thoughts.

By Kitty FermengsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

In the darkness and warmth of my own thoughts,

Lives a world lush and green, though some say it’s not.

For me it shines brightly and fills me with glee,

But for others it’s desolate, hostile you see.

In the corner stands a tree, tall as the sky,

From me it shields all those that would pry.

That’s where I sit, to just have a think,

Away from the world, a land drawn in ink.

In the world that I live, that no one else gets,

I live with my demons, my monsters, my friends.

The world fears those who reside in that land,

But to me they’re wise counsel, at my right hand.

My demons, my nightmares, my monsters my fears,

Gift me friendship, understanding, encouragement through tears.

The world is the terror, with permanence and doubt.

My world is spite fueled with no sign of clout.

So that is where I sit, dreaming in safety.

Of adventures with demons and monsters, my besties.

Despite a world that forces, conforms,

I choose the world that embraces, transforms.

inspirationalperformance poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kitty Fermengs

I try to write a little bit of everything, from a small poem to an epic prose. I live in A constant state of denial that I am any good at what I have chosen as a profession. Give my works a read. Judge for yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.