Poets logo

In Motion

A poem for a lazy summer day

By Suze KayPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
14
In Motion
Photo by Kelsey Curtis on Unsplash

Bring me to the place you’ve dreamed

of. The bed upstairs,

the raft in the cool, still lake.

//

Peach juice, sticky sweet, running

down my cheeks, my thighs.

Dab it with the linen sheet.

//

A current in the water

pulls the pit, spits it

on the beach. Another rock.

//

I want more days like this, please.

Swaying to a stop,

licking til it hurts your tongue.

//

Worry the sand in the crease.

Flip the table, if

you so hate the way it's set.

love poems
14

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨9 months ago

    I love any poem that lifts the corners of my mouth and brings a smile to my face 🩷 great work ✨

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done.

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Such suggestiveness wrapped un in stickyness. Love it.

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    This was such great imagery, and now I want a peach!

  • Emma Kate Coleman10 months ago

    These images are so vivid, Suze! It reminds me a bit of this photographer's work: https://susanworsham.net/-bittersweet-on-bostwick-lane---/1. Enjoyed it!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Alrighty, then! What an interesting twist and a fun read!

  • Ooooo, I love where this went, lol! Amazing work!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    This was a fun read. I was not expecting that at all. LOL!

  • Suze Kay (Author)10 months ago

    I wrote this poem while mulling over @Cendrine Marrouat's "Grains of Sand" Challenge, linked here: https://vocal.media/art/the-grains-of-sand-challenge If you're reading this, join in on the fun :)

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Wow. Must be a very delicious and juicy...peach!? :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.