Poets logo

In Loving Memory of My Past

Clef Notes From My Heart

By Melissa Gonzales-NestorPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Prison Paño Art By: Israel, in Collaboration with Nestor (2007)

Sitting here listening to oldies, a blast from the past...

Listening to Brentwood, Marven Gay & The Temptations...

"Give Me Some Kind of Sing", "Let's Get It On" & "Just My Imagination" blaring from my radio...

Memories of when I was little, maybe four or five, listening to my Dad's old 45's...

Till this day I wish I was born back then in that time when there really were no worries.

I love the old time Pachucos & Bombas...

The music, Homeboy Oldies - Eastside Stories & the style...

I wish I could find me an old time Pachuco, but all there is now are disrespectful Cholos...

I think I was a Pachuca in one of my past lives...

Somehow it feels like my life now is all a dream & soon I'll wake up in the arms of my Pachuco with green eyes and jet black hair listening to "Daddy's Home" playing on vinyl....

When I'm feeling down I play some music in memory of my past, I wish I could go back to that bright sunny day, into the life of the OG's, true Chicanos...

Tattoos of Aztec Queens on their forearm, La Virgen on their back, tattoo tears in loss of a homie & a rose in memory of a lost love....

Memories of a life lost in a blast from the past.

(1998)

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Gonzales-Nestor

Born in Albuquerque, New Mexico raised in the Jemez/Ponderosa Mountains. Meztiza, half Native, half Hispanic. I grew up listening to the sound of my Dad's acoustic guitar. Burque bred with the red dirt of Walatowa running through my vaines.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.