Poets logo

In Lieu Of The Shadowed Queen

A future undreamed lies at the edge of a paper

By Syed Arabi KhaliquePublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
In my fevered dreams

In the dying ambers of my fevered dreams,

I have often witnessed a shadow creep above the window sills.

What plan and purpose it carries escapes me,

And I turned to friends for the knowledge to see.

To see what lies at the edge of our dreams and memories,

One must look inside their own mind, then write what he sees.

Akin to black magic it might feel, but the absence of evil assures me,

That none heard what I heard in lieu of the Shadowed Queen.

As I wrote in a single paper of my mind's most honest truth,

It soon came into light how less I knew of the brute,

Who sings songs no one hears and tells tale no one reads,

Who fights in wars with no comrades and sits in feasts where no one eats.

And falls in love with those who don't care.

But does it matter to anyone, what is unjust or fair?

As the shadows grew from the flames of the burning paper,

Where laid the words of my mind's secret chambers,

They finally came to me with the answers I sought,

Of the words that lay in the ashes of the blue flame I wrought,

That I seek for a soul in the south of the Mediterranean Sea,

To trade in lieu of the Shadowed Queen.

Who ever tells of the beauty of evermore death?

And sings songs of the gift that all of us will have?

But in the purple sky against the orange dying ambers,

May lie our dreamed dreams of love,

Which we search for,

In lieu of the Shadowed Queen.

surreal poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Syed Arabi Khalique

I am a guy from Jersey who is trying to put down in words what nightmares afflict him, hoping that will somewhat sweeten the deadly ordeal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.