Poets logo

in her shadow

confession from someone invisible

By Brin J.Published 13 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
44
*Unsplash* joshua-rawson-harris

eyes always went to her first

caught by her powerful feminine charms

looking through me like I didn't exist

it stung, but I never felt envy

proud to call her my sister

standing in her shadow wasn't all that bad

... except for the times it was lonely

*

*

***Disclaimer*** Since Vocal wants transparency in regards to the use of AI-assistant tools, here are the two in my Google extensions: ProWritingAid & QuillBot. Neither wrote my poem for me.

sad poetryFamilyAcrostic
44

About the Creator

Brin J.

I never believed the sky is the limit, therefore my passions are expansive. My interest in writing stemmed from poetry but my heart lead me to Sci-Fi Fantasy. Consequently, my stories are plot-driven with splashes of evocative elements.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlie williams6 days ago

    This is really nice

  • Hannah Moore6 days ago

    I have no idea what these tools are, but the poem is excellent.

  • Back to say congratulations

  • Andrea Corwin 8 days ago

    Sad poetry💔 - Congrats on TS!

  • Anna 8 days ago

    so sad and painful... yet positive at the end... congrats on TS!

  • Heather Hubler8 days ago

    So happy this received TS!!! Congrats, Brin :)

  • K. Kocheryan8 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • Kiersten Weldon8 days ago

    This is such a great interpretation of the prompt. I really connected with the heartache of being lost in a sibling's shadow but still loving them.

  • fantastic. My sister was too much younger than I was for me to get lost in her shadow ... however .... my brother was two years older and people gravitated to him often leaving me in shadows. I usually felt so lost but even now, I feel even more lost because I don't have my brother to speak with. I miss him more than I miss being in his shadow.

  • Natasha Collazo8 days ago

    Me putting the pen down after reading this, this is a winner. Great job!

  • Dordle Luka8 days ago

    Your essay is extremely beneficial, and the substance is excellent. I have read many articles, but yours left a lasting impression on me; thank you for sharing. https://run3ds.com

  • Paul Stewart8 days ago

    Ah Brin, I read this before...but for some reason didn't interact. I am bad, that is why....lol. Anyway, what I love about this most is that it is sad, yes, because obviously you'd want some of the attention at least some of the time, as we all do/would...but you don't resent your sister for it. You hold her in high regard...so it's got this real sadness to it, but it's not spiteful either...which makes it quite remarkable really. so deftly written! congrats on it getting Top Story!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 days ago

    Love the subtitle. It sets the stage for the feelings evoked. Congrats, Brin!

  • 👌❤️💕👏

  • D. D. Lee9 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story.

  • Christy Munson9 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story. Your choice of 1st person gives this piece intensity. Love it.

  • D.K. Shepard9 days ago

    So raw and riveting! Great acrostic, Brin! And congrats on Top Story!

  • angela hepworth9 days ago

    Congratulations on top story!! Loved it!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 days ago

    This was heartbreaking and so so beautifully written!! Great work Brin and congrats on Top Story!! Also, I didn't know Vocal was wanting us to tag everything we use for our work... 😬😅 I better get back tracking since I've been using prewriting a lot, thanks to you for the suggestion!!

  • Cathy holmes9 days ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Cathy holmes10 days ago

    I love this so much, and it's got me thinking about a quandary I've never experienced - loving someone but feeling overlooked because of their existence. I have 2 bros but no sister, so I've never felt this. I'm thinking now of my cousins I grew up with. There were 4 girl and I didn't understand why they sometimes didn't want to hang out together. Hmmm. Sorry for the rant. Did I mention I love your poem?

  • I liked this unique take on a very relatable situation. Not focusing solely on the bad, but not shying away from it either. And the description of lonely making one feel invisible, excellent work!

  • Enjoyed your work but sad.

  • That was so sad 🥺 I'm so grateful I've never had to experience this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.