Poets logo

In Front

one then the other

By Brenton FPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
12
Image by crAIyon.com

carefully

i place one foot in front of the other

i adjust

my weight accordingly and lean

into the step

and then repeat on the opposite side

i place one foot in front of the other

i am now committed to the step

this path is set

(other aren't and never will be)

i know where i am and i don't

while this is not etched in stone

i don’t know where i am

mid-step somewhere…

my head is down

i look neither

forwards nor backwards

i don’t want to know

where i am going

and i know

where i have been

so my view at this juncture

is moot

carefully

i laid

one sad hope on top of another

it fit

so i did it again

i adjust

my weights; my hopes

both according

to need and merit,

and a modicum of fickleness

my journey

started when it began

and wont be completed

until i reach the end

sad poetry
12

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    This was so deep and emotional! I loved it!

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    Wow i love this. So apt. Nice job

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    As long as you keep moving...

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Wow. This poem flows really well. It’s relatable, and I appreciate the hopeful ending.

  • Nice piece ❤️💯👌😉📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.