Poets logo

In Endless Night

a practice of straying

By JPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
5
Yellow brick road - Beth Charles

⇟From whom

Are we asking too much

The question begs another:

Is it any wonder?

After all we've seen

In the depths of deepest stills

This void appears endless

Like the road most travelled

Treacherous, perhaps

If not altogether lethal

Illusory freedom is

A nocturnal bird in flight

Withholding with intent

Owed to none, yet

Determined to be earned

Against its very nature

Liberation has it's price

Blood and sacrifice

Pave over

Brand-name flags

In home-team colours⇞

.........................................................................................................................

I don't tend to include music in my posts, as I'd like to imagine the work speaks for itself without a need for accompaniment. However, this cover was repeating in my head the whole time that I wrote this piece, and I think that must mean that, in some way, it wanted to be heard; even if by no conscious intention of it's own. I am not so confident, though, in the validity of dismissing it's autonomy of voice, as it is a powerfully soulful rendition which I could not in good conscience bring myself to stifle or keep to myself. Here's to blaringly unignorable truths, and to Anohni, here seen performing Leonard Cohen's If It Be Your Will for the 2005 documentary Leonard Cohen: I'm Your Man, from Lian Lunsen.

Stream of Consciousnesssurreal poetrysocial commentaryElegy
5

About the Creator

J

I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Oh I love Leonard Cohen, this guy has a haunting voice, interesting combination. Poetry and song alike. Lovely

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Beautifully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.