Poets logo

Impostorem

a poem about not fitting in

By Noah DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Impostorem
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

I move like everyone else does

I smile like everyone else does

I even act like everyone else does

Sometimes I think I am like everyone else

but does breathing usually feel like this

but is thinking this heavy

am i to carry this burden

Stop it. I should just go on living… but how

Race, Faith, Clothes- they all incite anger

Bones uneasy at the thought of difference

We change till we don’t recognise the mirror

Crippled on the inside, mask on the outside

THE 21st CENTURY DREAM

‘if only i looked like her’, ‘if only i was as cool as him’

We keep copying their facades

Perpetuating the cycle of unhappiness

"they ask how i feel and instead of telling the truth i tell them what i think they want to hear because it’s easier that way and then eventually all they know of me is misinformation, they treat me like this completely different person until i slowly detach from all my actions"

P.S I think I’m going to give love island a miss this year guys.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Noah Douglas

Perpetually curious.

Journeyman of faith†

Runner, writer, marketer.

Some of my other work ↓

www.noahdouglas.net

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.