Poets logo

Imperfect Apologies

Tears

By Marc LinahPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
6
Imperfect Apologies
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

In the quiet of the night, regrets softly tread,

Whispers of apologies, heavy with unsaid.

Stars witness the sorrow in the sky's expanse,

As I confess to the universe, my flawed romance.

I'm sorry I couldn't be the flawless piece,

A puzzle missing parts, longing for release.

In the gallery of your heart, I'm but a flawed art,

Brushstrokes of imperfection tearing us apart.

With every "I love you" that faltered on my lips,

I watched our love sail away on sinking ships.

I tried to be the sun, but I cast shadows long,

Leaving you in darkness, where you don't belong.

I'm sorry for the times I failed to understand,

Leaving wounds unhealed, like grains of desert sand.

My promises, like whispers, lost in gusts of doubt,

Falling short of the love you couldn't live without.

For every silent tear you shed in solitude,

Know my heart weeps too, in quiet interlude.

I wasn't the perfect one you wished me to be,

But in my imperfect love, you found parts of me.

So here beneath the stars, I offer this refrain,

A melody of sorry, washed in gentle rain.

Though I wasn't perfect, my love was always true,

In my imperfect way, I loved the best I knew.

love poems
6

About the Creator

Marc Linah

"Discover the world through words. Engaging stories, insightful discussions, and endless inspiration await. Join me on a journey of knowledge and wonder!"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    It's hard to say sorry. Lovely poem, Marc.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.