Poets logo

Imp-erfect

In my defense, I was challenged

By Meredith HarmonPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
6
Mes amis!

'Tis midnight, and the frantic scribbles

Whirl around my brain,

I cannot sleep while phrases dribble -

Don't wanna rhyme with pain!

I want to use “time and again”

But scansion turns against me,

Tension builds, deadline looms -

Won't anybody help me?

Meter's flying out the window,

Dictionary, STAT!

Use a meme, street cred bestow?

Well that was lame - fell flat.

I need assistance! Call the cops!

An ambulance for thought!

I need pattern! Accent marks,

Inspiration sought!

I have a basic framework here,

But authors have a duty

To give their readers something rare

To revel in the beauty

Of measured lines, and ordered words,

And notions deep, not moot-y.

That's it! I've had enough! No more

Of countless lives - lines! - of drivel

My audience is dying here

I see their brains a-shrivel!

Fingers tangled! Mind's a wreck!

I need a beeter muse

Better, I mean! Dammit, spell check!

Give me quicker clues!

I need to stack my back on track-

Dude, that rhyme is stale,

It means nothing, and is tack-

-y to boot. Exhale!

Something something, and the tribbles-

Troubles! Linger on,

Pencil breaks, and verbal wibbles

Speak to wits long gone.

Wait! But soft! Mayhap my rescue

Dawns on the horizon?

Where have you been my friend? Unless you

Thought you were forgotten?

Well, you were. I'm sorry, friend,

I lost your only function,

Come save my career's untimely end

With obliterating unction.

Sacrificial crumble soothes and flatters

But hasten your demise,

Yippee, poem is saved! It matters!

My blatherings disguised

As sense and reason, lyric meter

Emerge to measured dance,

No longer look like babbling cheater

Whom readers glare askance,

With looks of joy, not of dismay,

This author begs you to embrace her,

Three cheers! Hip hip! And hooray!

For the humble eraser!

humor
6

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Outstanding ode to the eraser!!! Loved it!!❤️❤️💕

  • Hip, Hip, Hooray for the undoer of innumerable mistakes. May you oft be lifted high & met with paper where lies something that should not.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh9 months ago

    Bravo, Meredith! I'm glad you gave the eraser its due. I particularly was intrigued by your pointing out its self-sacrificial service.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    This is priceless, Meredith! Also, I'm glad to see someone else chose to honor one of the tools of our trade. Very well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.