Poets logo

Immigrant

It’s scary to be an immigrant. It’s scarier to live in fear.

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Immigrant
Photo by Matthieu Joannon on Unsplash

Gavyn said that my dumplings stunk,

They reeked of leeks and pork,

I wrapped them last night,

My hands covered in white,

I stare at them again as they run for the door.

.

That reminds me of an Asian,

She looked to be nine,

Her face was a steamed bun,

I hated to be another one,

So I twisted the muscles and strayed out of line.

.

Dad said respect comes from assertion,

Let no one invade your private space,

I mastered this art,

Won with my fast car

Until I became referee of the race.

.

It’s scary to be an immigrant,

It’s scarier to live in fear,

I battled with words,

Showed off my swords,

Now, why don’t the locals want to live here?

.

So now it’s sitting with the book,

Confessions of Submissive East Asian Women,

The more pain I feel,

The more I see what is fake and real,

With the help of a little rhythm.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you would like to support my writing, please consider liking my story, subscribing, pledging and/or tipping. Thank you for reading!

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.