Poets logo

"Illusions of Safety"

A Journey through Lost Dreams and Hidden Truths"

By Adam Published 6 months ago 1 min read
6
"Illusions of Safety"
Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

Submerged in the depths of night,

You stand beneath the crimson sun's gentle light,

And once again, I'm just a child in your sight,

Facing the wall, pretending with all my might.

I returned home through the pouring rain,

Blame-covered plains, a never-ending chain,

Swaying in the wind, a continuous strain,

The plane ride back was nothing but pain.

My hands itched, longing for some peace,

As a fallen tree marked where home used to cease,

Now, every memory lingers, never to release,

A paralyzing presence, a haunting tease.

Every plan remains suspended, never to take flight,

Unrealized dreams, trapped in endless night.

I glimpsed a fleeting second of paradise so bright,

All value, all meaning, in that brief respite.

But that expanding illusion, it couldn't last,

Disappearing, fading into the past,

The safety I felt was gone in a flash,

Now, the uniforms passing by, their judgment cast.

With blood-red eyes, they'll scorn and chide,

As I wander through this world, nowhere to hide.

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Adam 

Ever since I was little, they've been telling me I'm fucked up

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    Thank you for sharing!❤️

  • Rachael MacDonald4 months ago

    very well written <3

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Lot of sadness in this poem. Is it about a soldier returning from war?

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    This is one of those that needs reading twice 😁

  • Test6 months ago

    . Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.