Poets logo

Ignoring The Signs

🪧

By BrettNotGregPublished 2 days ago 1 min read
Ignoring The Signs
Photo by Bob Osias on Unsplash

STOP

Reads the white letters inside of the red octagon.

What an alarming presentation, it must be important that I abide.

I pause momentarily, wondering how long I should stay still.

I eventually continue toward my destination.

…Where exactly was that again?

-

I see another, it reads:

WRONG WAY

This one is much smaller, it can’t be that important.

I pass several more that are identical, but pay them no mind.

Besides, my heart says that this is in fact the right way.

-

PROCEED WITH CAUTION

Orange lights flash underneath a reflective yellow diamond as nightfall quickly approaches.

I must get there.

Wait… where?

-

ROAD CLOSED AHEAD

DETOUR >

I begin to feel very uneasy as I change my direction.

Suddenly, red flags begin to surround me.

I cannot resist walking past, nor can I explain why.

I feel as though I have arrived, but I no longer want to be here.

I am now freely falling into a bottomless abyss.

How ever will I get out of this one?

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Thank you so much for reading my work! Any feedback or support that you have to offer is accepted and appreciated.

If you liked this one, check out:

surreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessFree Verse

About the Creator

BrettNotGreg

Thirty-something creative with a wide spectrum of interests.

coffee

Threads

Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • C. Rommial Butler2 days ago

    Well-wrought and very clever! Once you pick yourself up out of the crater in the dirt, rest awhile, then just start walking. Somewhere, there's a way back up, and there will be plenty of time to think about what the signs, and the Abyss, really mean! Unless you're Wile E. Coyote. In that case, stop ordering stuff from Acme or maybe just leave the Road Runner alone...

  • Oh my, I've been there many times. Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 days ago

    hahaha This was quite enjoyable and humorous about signs we see and taking them literally. Great job.

  • Rowan Finley 2 days ago

    Very good! 😊

  • Your poem takes us on a journey filled with signs, your poem captures the complexities of navigating life's choices, thank you for sharing this thought-provoking and introspective poem!

BrettNotGregWritten by BrettNotGreg

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.