Poets logo

Ign of the imes

Who’s the victim here?

By Jan PortugalPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Ign of the imes
Photo by Fernando Venzano on Unsplash

A thief pilfers letters

off signs all over the city

and splatters the walls

with meaningless graffiti

sometime during the night

when most people sleep

*

Probably the thief had a

bad experience in his youth

and this perverse revenge is akin

to repeatedly killing his

second grade teacher

*

usually the act is blamed on

third world shenanigans

anti-savant codes for gang events

cloaked announcements of

bragadocio coups and

where the loot is stashed

*

I can’t help think what do

foreigners trying to learn our

language do while looking all over

for another UTO ARTS STORE

or trying to figure out what

a DRY LEANERS is

*

What baffles me is how those

missing letters appear on top

of freeway signs in the busiest

part of downtown - and thats why

I think its an evil cult spreading

messages of mystical powers - who else

would climb a sixty foot wall

to spill their guts out in letters

that don’t spell anything

*

Of course I suspect the real reason

Is a secret code for underground

Saboteurs wanting control of our minds

Maybe TEN IS HOES has a subliminal effect

On our brains to over-eat and join a gym

Or DO NOT ARK IN A ED ZONE is a

Deliberate attempt to increase the city’s coffers

*

Honestly Officer I wouldn’t park in this

FIR LANE unless some weird power

forced me to - so you see you can’t give me

that ticket because I’m not the guilty one.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Jan Portugal

I love the adventure writing takes me on. I enjoy the idea of sharing them with an audience. I hope you enjoy my visions too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.