Poets logo

If you don't like Lego, then we can't be friends

An honest requirement for meaningful friendships

By D-DonohoePublished 3 days ago 1 min read
2

If you don’t like Lego, then we can’t be friends.

Not during the week, or even weekends.

What would we talk about? How the temperature’s chilled?

Not how the Batwing was so hard to build?

The Lego Batwing

Perhaps you think we could discuss current affairs.

Not how the Police Station has so many stairs?

Maybe sport is your thing, baseball or soccer?

But if you want something challenging, try building that chopper!

The Lego rescue helicopter

Getting Taylor Swift tickets makes you go manic.

I just spent my whole pay cheque to buy the Titanic.

You’re saving your money, to buy your own place?

Well, I can build a house, that flies into space.

The Abandoned Spaceship House

If I’m looking kinda sleepy, I’ve not been out on the town,

But this late-night construction is wearing me down.

You’ve got a wife, or a husband, or significant other?

To afford this addiction, I still live with my mother.

A dragon eating a Ford Raptor

Star Wars, Creator, and other fun stuff

Your blank stare says it all, please don’t try to bluff.

Let’s end it right here, so you don’t get hurt anymore.

But can you look for this piece on your way out the door?

_________________________________________________

Thank you so much for reading. Please like or comment.

Also, I don't live with my Mother, I have very patient wife who puts up with all the Lego in the house.

Friendship
2

About the Creator

D-Donohoe

Amateur storyteller, LEGO fanatic, leader, ex-Detective and human. All sorts of stories: some funny, some sad, some a little risqué all of them told from the heart.

Thank you all for your support.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • CHRISTIAN P3 days ago

    Beautiful poet D

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.