Poets logo

If

by Ted Lacksonen

By Ted LacksonenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
20
Image: https://www.fggam.org/2021/04/if/

If

Just two letters, yet the biggest little word in the English language.

It represents things that may or may not come to pass.

It represents hopes and ideas that, like a candle,

May snuff out and amount to nothing,

Or ignite a flame of ingenuity or political change, laden with hope and vision.

Two letters. So much meaning.

If

*

If

Just two letters, yet the biggest little word in the English language.

Hopes

Ideas

Dreams

If only

If I could

*

If

If I

If you

If we

The possibilities become endless.

*

But through fear and trepidation

My lifeline is one little word

If

I want to embrace my dreams

I want to shake my fears

I want to lose my indecision

And rid myself of that pesky two-letter word.

*

If

If only I had asked my crush for a date.

If only I hadn’t yelled at my mama when I didn’t get my way.

If only I had tried in school instead of inventing clever ways to skip class.

If hopes and dreams become reality

The possibilities become limitless

But the word bounces off my skull

Like echoes in a canyon.

If

inspirational
20

About the Creator

Ted Lacksonen

With a history degree, a law degree - which included being an editor of his school's law review - a letter to the editor published in The Wall Street Journal, and a novel to his credit, Ted Lacksonen is no stranger to the written word.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.