Poets logo

If only I could be yours

your absence

By Dr. Kinjal ShahPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
2

In the dimly lit room, i sat alone, my heavy heart with sorrow, tears tracing silent paths down my cheeks. The weight of his impending departure presses down on me, suffocating me in a blanket of despair. How could i bear to watch him leave, knowing that he was taking with him a piece of me!

He had been more than just a friend; he had been my confidant, my rock, my everything. Every shared laugh, every whispered secret, every stolen glance had woven our bond tighter, until i couldn't imagine my life without him. But now, he stood before me, his bags packed, ready to embark on a journey that would take him far away from me.

I wanted to scream, to beg him to stay, to hold onto him with all my might. But i knew i couldn't. His happiness lay in leaving, in pursuing his dreams, and i couldn't bear to stand in the way of that. So, i plastered on a brave smile, swallowing back my tears as i whispered words of encouragement, telling him how proud i was of him, how i believed in his abilities.

But inside, my heart was breaking. How could i explain to it that sometimes, love meant letting go? How could i make it understand that sacrificing my own happiness for his was the ultimate act of love? The ache in my chest was unbearable, a constant reminder of the void he would leave behind.

I watched him walk away, each step echoing like a hammer blow to my fragile heart. And as he disappeared from view, i felt as though a part of me went with him, leaving behind only emptiness and longing. The tears flowed freely now, unchecked and unstoppable, as i allowed myself to grieve for what could have been.

In the days that followed, I tried to fill the void he had left behind, surrounding myself with distractions and meaningless pursuits. But no matter how hard i tried, i couldn't escape the pain of his absence. Everywhere i looked, i saw reminders of him – in the empty chair at our favorite workplace, in the silence of our late evening calls, in the spaces where his laughter used to fill the air.

I knew i would never stop loving him, that his memory would linger in my heart long after he was gone. And though it hurt like hell, i took solace in the knowledge that i had loved him with everything i had, that i had given him the freedom to chase his dreams, even if it meant losing him in the process.

And so, i carried on, my heart was heavy with the weight of his absence, but also buoyed by the hope that one day, we will meet again, our paths will converge once more in a twist of fate that would bring us back together. Until then, i would hold onto his memory, cherishing it like a precious treasure, and praying that wherever life took him, he would find the happiness and fulfillment he so rightly deserved.

and i will always be here waiting for him, and i am always there for him no matter what.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Dr. Kinjal Shah

"Embracing life's beauty as a physiotherapist 🌟 | Research Assistant in Civil Hospital 📚 | Spreading happiness and love in everything I do ❤️ | Living life to the fullest, one joyful step at a time ✨ | Kinjal Shah ✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Neel2 months ago

    When two givers indulge in a connection, it's like Magic. It's alchemy. I water you, you water me, we never drain each other, we just grow..

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.