Poets logo

If only

In my dreams only

By Valerie RacinePublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
If only
Photo by Hans Moerman on Unsplash

When I sleep, it seems real,

and I can forget all about the ordeal,

of being stuck on four wheels.

I am not walking per se; it is a more potent sentiment.

I am flying upward, rising above my predicament.

The momentum is reversed, no longer crushed by my deficiencies

it allows me to rise above the difficulties.

The moment I wake up,

I can no longer reach the top.

I swirl down into the sad reality

and swim back into my incalculable incapacities.

My eyes open, my body nailed to the bed,

with no movement; I can only turn my head.

I need help with everything.

It makes life so frustrating.

If only I could walk again, if only.

It never misses; I reminisced about what led me here.

I took one too many beers.

thought it was Okay to drive and had to hit a deer;

woke up in a whirlpool of panic and fear.

The doctor told me in one sentence

it changed my whole existence;

I am paralyzed from head to toe.

If only I could walk again. I am my own foe!

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Valerie Racine

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Véronique Racine about a year ago

    Don' t drink BEER!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.