Poets logo

If only

A love poem

By C. N. C. HarrisPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1
Image by Bingo Naranjo on Pixabay

How can I show my love for you?

Each tiny word does not seem to do it,

A grin upon your lips can pull me from the dark,

Envy fills the sun when your warm eyes glow,

If only you were mine.

Your palm in my hand is a hope I bear,

For now I must gaze from afar,

Your "best mate" who is ever here,

I wait, I wish, I want,

If only it were more.

If only you saw me the way I saw you,

The most real love we'd ever find,

But it can't be, and I am a fool,

You and me, it won't ever be true,

If only, I weep with a soft low sigh,

If only,

If only, I cry.

love poems
1

About the Creator

C. N. C. Harris

Writer, artist, teacher. Thirties, hurties and surviving. Quirky lady. I don't have a niche, I love writing thrillers, romance, articles about mental health, poetry, whatever takes my fancy! Obsessed with taking photos of my dog/chinchilla.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.