Poets logo

If I Shall Bid You Goodbye

Will I be betraying my own self?

By Pyramus PoetryPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

If I shall bid you goodbye,

will I be betraying

my own self?

Will it not be like the tree

that sheds away his leaves,

quietly, calmly, and freely?

If I shall bid you goodbye,

I will close my eyes and look not

at your face.

Will I be like a man staring

at the striking sun but is blinded

until the warmth of the sunset comes?

If I shall bid you goodbye,

will I break my own heart?

Will I not be like a desert

that has been forgotten

by the showers of rain?

If I shall bid you goodbye,

will I be able to endure

the pain or will I wallow

excruciatingly in cries?

If I shall bid you goodbye

will you let me?

If you do, you will steal me

my life and I will die knowing

you have never loved me.

For if you do love me,

do know this,

I shall never bid you goodbye.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Pyramus Poetry

I am a poet nurtured by the classics but crafts contemporary pieces. My love affair has always been with romantic, solitary, and heartbreaking themes.

For daily poems, follow my official page at instagram.com/pyramuspoetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.