Futurism logo

Melodies in Stars

He was a guitarist. She was the moonlight. Will love shine upon them?

By Pyramus PoetryPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

“Will you ever be free?” the man asked her.

“No one knows the treasures of tomorrow. I don’t know if I’ll ever be free.” she answered.

Without words, they both agreed to stop the conversation. They were silent. That evening, the man stayed with her. She did the same except that they could not be close to one another. They shared the night with the man sitting at the mountaintop and the moonlight staring down at him from the skies.

The woman was the moonlight. From the bright moon she emanated. At the height of deepest darkness, she stood most beautiful of all. She had the power to allow the magnificent underneath to be seen. But she was lonely. She was not free for the sun owns her.

The man saw her solitariness and so he always kept her company. As time passed, the moonlight captured his heart. He wanted to reach her. He wanted to have her. He wanted so bad to tell her how much he fell for her. Every night, the man traversed the mountain, went over till he steps on its pinnacle, and sat there so he could be closer to her.

“You’re here again. Why?” This time, the man was the one being asked.

“I won’t satisfy your query. All I could say is that I love being here,” the man told the moonlight.

“Another question, what are you bringing?”

“Oh, these? My guitar and my dagger.”

“What are those for?”

“Again, I won’t satisfy your query. But I’ll sing a song for you instead,” the man beamed.

He sang a song that he composed. Its rhythm, tone, and all the words soothed the moonlight. She loved his music. With every piece of its harmony, the man reached the heavens. With all its melodies, he sent his heart to the moonlight. That night again, they stayed for each other. The man never failed to ease her solitariness and the moonlight never failed to fulfill his heart.

Not a single night passed that the man did not sing a song for the moonlight. It was no ordinary serenade. Each song he composed and sang contained a fragment of his life and love for her. He assured that all melodies of his songs were stored in stars in the heavens. But it was not an easy endeavor. For him to do that, he needed to cut his arms and pour his blood on his guitar. His blood, his life, was the magic that stored the melodies of his song in a star together with his heart for the moonlight.

Thousand nights of being together strengthened their bond and deepened their connection. The stars witnessed how they fell in love for each other. But still, the moonlight was not free and still, the man loved her. But he had to let go. On a star-filled night, the man climbed the mountain’s peak once more.

“Where’s your guitar? Won’t you be singing another beautiful song for me tonight?” the moonlight smiled.

“I want to. I always wanted to sing for you,” the man’s eyes spoke for the sadness that embraced his heart. For that star-filled night, he knew, could be the last night that they will be seeing each other, ever again.

“What happened to you? Your arms are wounded. Your dagger, was it you who cut yourself?”

“Yes. My arms are wounded. I could not use them to play a song for you tonight. And I can never use them ever again.”

“But I always love to hear the songs of your heart. Will this be the last night that you’ll be climbing the mountaintop?”

“There was not a night that I did not want to see you, to be here.” No, the man couldn’t just easily bid goodbye. He just can’t. And even just the thought of it was tormenting.

It rained. It was as if the clouds were lamenting for this sorrowful moment. But as it rained, the stars remained in the skies, amazingly. The moonlight started to weep. She spoke again.

“Why did you hurt yourself? And why, why can I hear your melodies tonight, all of it? How can I still feel your heart?” The moonlight wept even harder.

“Do you see all the stars that surround you? You could hear my melodies because they are stored in each of these stars. You could feel my heart because it is stored in my melodies. Don’t cry my dear. It is not a punishment that I pained myself. It is a reward. I may never be able to play a song, but the stars will forever bring you my melodies and my love. I did that because I love you. I did that, so if ever you will never be free as a moonlight, you will still have my love with you, forever.”

“But you’re leaving me. . .”

“I am. But you’re here with me, in my heart. And my love will never be gone. Just listen, listen closely to the stars.”

That night, the stars shone the brightest. The man finally left.

psychology
Like

About the Creator

Pyramus Poetry

I am a poet nurtured by the classics but crafts contemporary pieces. My love affair has always been with romantic, solitary, and heartbreaking themes.

For daily poems, follow my official page at instagram.com/pyramuspoetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.