Poets logo

If I no longer existed

Poem 3

By Hannah AlexanderPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
If I no longer existed
Photo by Artiom Vallat on Unsplash

If I no longer existed

What exactly would change?

Would people actually miss me?

Would it really be that strange?

No, I don't seem to think so

Green grass would still grow

The sun will still rise high

As the moon sinks low

Day by day will still pass

Winter will still come with snow

And though these things will stay the same

I can't help but think of all the moments

I've wanted to extinguish my dying flame

To just finally disappear

Away and in the wind

Spread like the ashes of a fire

That I once held within

I can't help but think

Of the so many times

I've imagined the world

Without my stink

Of desperation, of hope

That maybe one day I'll fit in

That I'll be more than just a trope

Do more than sit around and mope

If I suddenly stopped existing

I can't be sure I'd be missed

By all my friends and family I know

I think you get the gist.

In my life, I've done nothing

Not a single change of heart

I've not affected a single person

Nor have they been touched by my art.

I am so insignificant

I think you'll agree it's imminent

The day where the World will breathe a sigh of relief

That I am no longer anything

But a pile of dust, sitting at their feet.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Deasun T. Smyth2 years ago

    stop feeling sorry for yourself, and help the person who needs help, that would change the world.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.