Poets logo

If I Never Saw You

A Poem

By Jessie WaddellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Image licensed from Shutterstock

If I never saw you,

I'd have never had to know,

What it was to lose something,

I never had.

If I never saw you,

I wouldn't be left wondering,

What two strangers might have created,

If the universe had let them collide.

If I never saw you,

I wouldn't know how to be jealous,

Of an innocent stranger,

Who's only crime was seeing you first.

If I never saw you,

I wouldn't spend minutes, hours or days,

Longing for the unknown,

Pining over a lost dream.

If I never saw you,

I might have been able to connect,

With the others who tried and left,

Who never could compare to the fantasy.

But...

If I never saw you,

I'd have never seen the stars,

Known the sensation of pure oxygen,

Or felt absolute certainty.

I know I had to see you,

Even if you were never meant to be mine,

Because seeing you was the first thing,

That ever made me feel alive.

love poems
9

About the Creator

Jessie Waddell

I have too many thoughts. I write to clear some headspace. | Instagram: @thelittlepoet_jw |

"To die, would be an awfully big adventure"—Peter Pan | Vale Tom Brad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Ali Loveabout a year ago

    So deeply profound and Godly. You're still alive and maybe the Universe is still planning on that collide. But thank you for fresh air. Thank you for shooting stars, and mostly Thank you for healing the parts of me I never even knew were broken.

  • This is really beautiful. I'm 30 now but I remember feeling this way countless times in my teens and my early twenties. It captures that youthful longing and disappointment perfectly. ♡

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.