Poets logo

If I Had Not Become Spiritual

If I Had Not Become Spiritual .1

By LaTrecia JonesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

If I Had Not Become Spiritual

If I had not become spiritual,

Life would appear a different way.

I would care what people think of me and what they say.

Their words would cut me like a sword and make me insecure.

They would tell me who I am because I would be unsure.

I would always be in darkness, not knowing how to find my light.

Everything would make me emotional and possibly pick a fight.

I would always restrict myself from being who I want to be,

Trying to care about how others would look at me.

If I had not become spiritual,

My pride and ego would push good people away;

Because my shadow would take over and tell me all the wrong things to say.

I would always think I’m right, never thinking that I’m wrong.

I would always lie and have excuses; it would almost sound like a song.

Change would be scary; accountability would be too.

I would always find a valid reason to act the way I do.

But because I am spiritual,

Life is better this way.

I may not be perfect, but I know the right things to say.

I am accountable and admits when I am wrong.

I don’t try to fit in where I simply don’t belong.

I am unapologetically, authentically, and naturally me.

I am whoever I want to be.

I am wise, kind, peace, and love.

I am divine, my heart is healed, and my aura is pure like a dove.

So if I had not become spiritual,

I wouldn’t know how to write this poem.

I would still be in darkness, undertaken by its storm.

I would be blind, lost, and salty like the sea.

But because I am spiritual,

My eye is open, I am protected, and my soul is free.

-Kiara

surreal poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

LaTrecia Jones

Greetings from a natural word lover 💜. I always express my reality through words and color. I’m a parent, loctician, business owner, and a hidden artist coming out of my shadows 🪬✨.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.