Poets logo

If I Grow Up (9)

I want to be a Precocious Child

By Kaydie PaschallPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Photo by Ketut Subiyanto from Pexels

If I grow up I want to be a precocious child

Dreams intact

Heart unbroken

Motives untarnished.

I want to run full out at life

Unfettered by baggage or regrets

Memories or losses

Failures or dramas.

I want to speak with passion and conviction

Unshaken in my belief

That everything you have taught me

Is true and that I

Know enough to take action.

I want to still believe

That the people who love me

Will not lie or cheat me

Because they are good

And good is good and bad is bad and

I can tell the difference.

I want to be fueled by the

Excitement and wonder

Of every new revelation

About the world around me

All the magic and mystery of life unfolding

In the present moment and me

Never once a concerned about the things

I haven't learned yet or what I may have forgotten.

I want to speak up

Unafraid of being squelched

Because you taught me that all people matter and

Ought to have a voice

Even little ones who do not know they are little.

I want to wish on stars and never doubt

I can change the world

At any moment.

I want to leap knowing I will be caught

Climb knowing I'll reach the top

spin and dance until I am giddy and dizzy and

Fall into a crumpled heap of

Breathless giggles on the floor.

I want to talk about the things I see

when you think I am not looking and

Cut through your jaded ennui

With a new perspective on the things

That you have chosen to ignore.

I want to ask why and why and

Why not and refuse to accept because for an answer.

I want to expend every ounce of energy I have

Not because there was a prize or

Someone paid me but

Just because that is what it is for.

I want my pains to be like scraped knees

Eased with kiss and a band-aid and

Forgotten in the excitement of the next adventure.

I want you to read to me and

Tell me stories that change my view of everything.

I want to hear your voice

Telling me something amazing.

I want to love the simple things

Because I have not learned

To make things complicated.

I want to do so much more than anyone expected

Because no one told me that I couldn't and

I was too innocent to believe

That any monster could stop me.

If I grow up I want to be a precocious child.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kaydie Paschall

Training Consultant, Disaster Preparedness Advocate, Poet, Wordsmith, Humorist...I evoke feelings, grins and giggles and on my best days thought and share the jewels and gems of lessons learned along the way. - Disaster Drama Queen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.