Poets logo

If I Grow Up (10)

I want to be a Midnight Swim

By Kaydie PaschallPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Avery Nielsen-Webb from Pexels

If I grow up I want to be a Midnight swim in a mountain lake,

Waters deep and cool from snow melt

But still warm on the surface from the intense heat of

An almost endless summer day.

I want to float fluid and relaxed

Unable to define where I end and the water begins.

I want to dissolve on that warm surface

Underneath a fiercely starry sky

That is reflected so perfectly

In the smooth black mirror of the lake

I am no longer sure if the laws of gravity still apply.

I want to ripple with every wave and

Sigh with each midnight breeze and

Actually feel the tickle of time as it passes

Almost imperceptibly from one day to the next.

And then I want to take a long deep breath

Hold it and disappear beneath the warm surface

Sinking into the cold bracing depth

Until the need for life

Propels me back to the surface

Where I emerge and see your face

Water droplets in your hair

Stars reflected in your eyes

And a grin that makes me wonder

If the laws of gravity ever applied.

If I grow up I want to be a midnight swim.

surreal poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Kaydie Paschall

Training Consultant, Disaster Preparedness Advocate, Poet, Wordsmith, Humorist...I evoke feelings, grins and giggles and on my best days thought and share the jewels and gems of lessons learned along the way. - Disaster Drama Queen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.