Poets logo

if I could go home again

the maple and the dogwoods

By Michele CuomoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
if I could go home again
Photo by Donnie Rosie on Unsplash

I would

drink the green lawn

rub the sun on my skin

like it was butter

bathe in the sky

scrub with the clouds

I would

swing on my maple tree

a sapling when I was seven

later, an extensive canopy

Dad planted a tree

for each of us

the Dogwoods were the boys’

I took those for granted

until I sat in the blue chair

where I read

that the bloom

was the Cross,

I went out

looked at one

saw the nail holes

I would

pluck one dogwood bloom

for my hair

and gather a bouquet of tulips and daffodils

dandelions, black eyed Susans and

Queen Anne’s lace

watch the sun set over the woods

I could

imagine the spirits of the 2 mallards

the three cats buried

the many corpses

of their Rabbit victims

imagine all their spirits dancing

our child selves too

with glass jars for fireflies

and toads

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Michele Cuomo

seeking. writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.