Poets logo

If I Could...

I would erase everything that has ever hurt you

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Matheus Bertelli from Pexels

If I could, I would have talked to you today.

Just to hear your voice

And to let you know I worry about the hard things you're going through

Not to pry or offer unsolicited advice.

Just a wish that I might hear a hint of joy

You deserve joy you know.

And I suppose to hear friendliness in your voice.

To find relief that you aren't mad at me any more.

I won't even bring up that I don't understand why you were mad at me.

I'll just accept that you were and that your feelings are real and you have a right to them.

Your birthday is coming.

I have no way to tell you happy birthday where you will see it or hear it.

I have no direct connection to you anymore

It's almost as though I died in your life.

But that sounds too final.

Someday surely we'll get past whatever is wrong.

That somewhere inside of you is a seed of love for me?

A seed that although hard and dry now, with the right conditions, it might grow again ?

I face each day with that hope.

I know you are just short of 30 but I still remember when you were 3.

Your smiles were big and the world hadn't slammed down on you yet.

Just know, if I could, I would erase everything that has ever hurt you, whether by me or others,

So you could live life joyfully like the 3 year old you once were.

I love you always.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.