Poets logo

Life as a Dragon

Children's "Imagination and Me" Series

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
by Tim Mossholder from Pexels

"Imagination my friend,

Come out to play,

I want to have

A wonderful day..."

"Ok, here I am," Imagination replied, "repeat after me."

"What would I be

If I could be

Something else

other than me?"

"A Dragon!" cried William.

Poof! A dragon was he!

William looked into the mirror at his bright, shiny green scales.

"I am green!

But, I'd rather be blue.

Is that something 

that I can change too?"

"Oh yes!" Imagination replied.

"You can do anything 

If you believe it.

Because when you believe it

You can achieve it!"

Image by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay

"Yeah!" said William.

"Now I am no longer green.

I am the most beautiful blue

that has ever been seen!"

William's scales sparkled and in an instant they were blue!

"Oh now I see how this is done!

Today is going to be so much fun!" cried William

"Wings! Wings! I want wings!

I want to be able to fly over things!"

Wings sprouted up out of his back.

He tried them out,

Flap, Flap, Flap!

"Fly! Fly! I want to fly!

Up into the air

High! High! High!"

Flap! Flap! went his wings.

Then up and away!

Image by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay

Swoooosh! 

Round and round William flew

Up over house tops

and mountains too

Higher and higher into the sky

There were no limits to how high he could fly

But then William saw way down below

People were running and screaming "Oh, no!"

Image by Peter H from Pixabay

"Imagination help me!

I don't know why

But the people below

Are afraid when I fly!"

Imagination replied, "Ahh, well  you see,

the reason people run and they scream

is because they think of dragons as big and quite mean,"

"Oh no!" cried William, "that just is not so!

I am not like that, oh no not at all.

You see I am not mean and I'm really quite small!"

"There must be a way to help them see

what a nice dragon friend that I can be.

Imagination, can't you please help me?" asked William

"Well, there is something you can do

so the people will get to know the real you.

Find something that they need

Then find a way to do a good deed," said Imagination.

William flew round and round above the town

And finally he saw a bridge broken down.

"Oh my! The poor people can't get to the other side!

I know!" said William, "I can go give them a ride!"

By Giancarlo Revolledo on Unsplash

Flap, Flap, Swoosh!

To the ground William flew.

He now knew just the thing he could do.

"Come one, come all!

Don't be afraid!" William cried.

"This friendly dragon will give a free ride

to any and all to the other side!"

"Yeah!" cried the people.

Up and away, flap, flap, swoosh!

William gave rides to the people all day.

Until every last one  had gone on their way.

"William! It's bed time" called mother.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

He put on pajamas and curled up by his brother.

"It truly was such a FUN day!

I love it when Imagination

comes out to play!" said William

As William fell asleep, he said,

"Tomorrow, what would I be

If I could be

Something else

other than me?"....

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.