Poets logo

If I Could Dream Awake

Where is my inner child?

By Christopher O'SullivanPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3

Such dreams I have in me,

That it seems such a shame.

To know that ther is such a place

Where all is wild, none tame.

A feeling we forgot sometime

That love for all romance

Conquered mountains and monsters

So that we could sing and dance

When did my life get boring?

Where did the color go?

When did I decide to stop

Letting my sweet dreams grow?

Was it because of reach for wealth?

Or maybe for responsibility?

Did I choose the shackles I wear?

Give up my way to be free?

I think there is a child in us

That rallies against despair

That seeks to live out loud

And love without a care

One day I hope to meet

This inner dancing sprite

And choose to play along

Just dancing through the night

surreal poetrysocial commentarylove poemsart
3

About the Creator

Christopher O'Sullivan

Poet, filmaker. Please feel free to check out my you tube channel https://youtube.com/@diofyproductions?si=eQKCpdk1asRf1G-g to see what sort of fun shorts i'm making.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    I've found a lot of joy in embracing my inner child. Maybe it comes with age.

  • It would be so wonderful to embrace our inner child! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.