Poets logo

If I Am

(you are)

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
3
If I Am
Photo by Timo Stern on Unsplash

If I am a song, (you are) the beat,

hear me hum you

if ever, I feel no need to talk.

+

If I am a shoe, (you are) the feet,

find me near you

if ever, you want to go for a walk.

+

If I am a tree, (you are) the rays I need,

to heal when sick

if ever, I try and hope to mend.

+

If I am the sea, (you are) the moon,

you tug and pull me up,

and for days on end, I go and surf the wind.

+

If I am a bird, (you are) the sky,

and on this day and my last, I will need you in my life,

if ever, I am to soar, to live, to see, to fly.

+

If I am the wind, (you are) a kite,

and I try my best to help you soar,

for I love it when you get high.

+

And that is why, If I am near you,

it easy to see, (you are) the arms

that you lift me up, so I can be the best me.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Meg10 months ago

    This is such an eloquent poem! Brilliant!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    This was amazing! Great Poem!!!!!!!!!!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.