Poets logo

If I

A declaration...

By Ginny M. JonesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

If I offered to you a light for your darkness

The gift of which you did not perceive

Your very own prayer you now transgress

Your blessing you’re unable to receive

If I offered to you one of my warmest smiles

And you just turned and looked away

To engage instead the world so hostile

Your blessing rejected you chose the melee

If I offered to you an olive branch of friendship

And you thought to use it to beat me down

It is not I that will mourn our kinship

Your blessing now in rebound

If I offered to you a measure of comfort

In a world that’s grown so cold

And the same you willfully chose to distort

Your blessing you viewed as fool’s gold

If I offered to you a place of peace

And you moved within as a god of war,

Your troubles you have now increased

Your blessing now lost to you forevermore

If I offered to you my unconditional love

And you gave to it the cold shoulder

The same you will lose as you push and you shove

Your blessing not recognized by you the beholder

If I offered you any of these pieces of me

Earthly presence of God’s own Light

The value of which you did not see

You’ll mourn her blessing now in your hindsight

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ginny M. Jones

Our stories somehow make us real. Makes our journey through this existence mean something in a way nothing else can. They tell who we are and who we once were, chronicle our triumphs, sorrows, pleasure, pain, laughter, and tears.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.