Poets logo

Identity

A Poem for the Genderqueer

By Pip WalkerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

You are blind to call me a girl

I am not sugar and spice

Caked in foundation and colorful pallets

Worshiping photo-shopped idols claiming to be 'beautiful'

You stab my with your brutality

Purposely calling me "she" over and over with no remorse

My Body is wrong!

You never judge a book by its cover

Yet like second nature you label me by my voice

Her

Miss

She

STOP IT!

You have no right to cage me

My name is not Aspen

It is a falsehood of porcelain dolls and crimson stained rags

I am not your daughter

A second attempt for you to live the life you never could

My chest doesn't define who I am

But I am not a boy either

Driven by ego

Proving who the alpha of the pack is

I am not some dude looking to score

Nor am I a gentleman with a cane

Your boxes don't fit!

Stop pushing me into things that I'll never be

Boy or girl

Pink or blue

Why does it matter?

The world Is not black and white

No

Instead it's a spectrum of color

Vibrant and diverse

OPEN YOUR EYES!

I am not a girl

I am not a boy

My gender does not fit in your boxes

This is the truth

So if I must bleed from the cuts of your hate

If I must become indifferent from those called 'family'

Then so be it

But I will not hide anymore

I've done my waiting

17 years of it

In freezing solitude

I am non-binary

My gender is fluid

My tastes are diverse

But I am NOT a myth

This is not in my head

I am not a he

I am not a she

I am a they

And I will always be myself

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.