Poets logo

Identity

A Poem About Me

By Chloe GilholyPublished 7 years ago 1 min read

My name is Chloe

Amongst other things

Named after someone

From Home and Away

My family calls me sweet things

Like honey, sugar plum

And every confection under the sun

Bullies called me more sour things

Like fatty and lots of swear words

Saw some the other day

Plodding to the Job Centre

That's karma for them

My friends call me Chlobo

The Miss Green Tea

Ever since college

Now I'm at work

They just call me Chlo

My closest pals call me a

Sister from another mother

I'm a godmother to Jade's Son

My Greatnan, nearly a centenarian

Gave me a card saying congratulations

On the birth of your granddaughter

I haven't got kids yet!

performance poetry

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Chloe GilholyWritten by Chloe Gilholy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.