Poets logo

Ice Day Reading

A book reader in the 21st century

By Alfie JanePublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Ice Day Reading
Photo by Michał Parzuchowski on Unsplash

Early this morning

Mommy and Daddy get a call

from the school.

The roads are too icy for school.

Brother stays on the Xbox,

and sister stays on her phone.

Mommy tells sister

turn off TikTok.

Everyone's too busy

to notice me.

So I go to my church,

my haven,

my paradise,

my boarding pass.

Our bookshelf in the hall.

I pick one

and go to my room.

I go back to bed,

my blanket like a seat belt.

And then I travel the world

through the pages.

Soon, I'm flying across the country,

no! The world!

I meet new people

and learn about new places.

I'm seeing the world

when I grow up.

social commentarylove poemsinspirationalchildrens poetry
5

About the Creator

Alfie Jane

A wandering soul who writes about anything and everything. Former expat, future cook and writer. Will take any challenge that comes her way.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    You have some wonder in your imagery! - creative and thoughtful

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This wrapped me up in such a comforting feeling - the magic of being at home but far away in the enchantment of a book. :) Well done!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    "...I go back to bed, my blanket like a seat belt. And then I travel the world..." I am in love with this image! Take my love, insights and subscription and go!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.