Poets logo

Iamb What Iamb

With no apologies

By Dana CrandellPublished 23 days ago Updated 9 days ago 1 min read
Iamb What Iamb
Photo by Yogendra Singh on Unsplash

Why do you insist upon this meter?

I love the way it rolls from my tongue, sir!

This “jingle, jangle” scheme appeals to you?

It does to me, and many others, too.

~

From where I stand, it seems monotonous!

I see your point, but why make such a fuss?

It burns into my brain and makes me squirm!

Ah, that's the point, you see. It's an earworm!

~

No one on Earth but you likes it, you know!

Da-dum, da-dum, da-dum. Ha-ha! Ho-ho!

Oh, stop it, please! You can't keep doing this!

I can, I will, and seal it with a kiss!

~

Ugh! Kisses? Get away from me, you fool!

It's figurative! Don't be such a tool!

Okay, but please, make this the last quatrain!

Thank you for playing sir, and come again!

~~~

Author's Note: So, there I was, minding my own business, and Vocal came up with another interesting challenge. Interesting, partly, because there are several ways to interpret what they're looking for. Here's my interpretation. (What's a starving, wannabe poet to do?)

If you happen to enjoy my take, please click that little heart and leave a comment. If you'd like to read more of my ramblings, click on the "Subscribe" link!

If you'd like to try your hand at this, here's a link to the challenge:

humorFor Fun

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (16)

  • Imsatisfyingwith10 days ago

    Nice article. I love it

  • L.C. Schäfer14 days ago

    Love this, you do the rhyming poetry so well.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)22 days ago

    Dana I love the whimsy and lightheartedness of this piece! It's very clear that you had a lot of fun with this entry to the challenge!! Great work!!

  • Hahahahahhahahah this made me laugh, especially the kiss part! Loved your take on the challenge!

  • Babs Iverson23 days ago

    Loving it!!!♥♥♥

  • Novel Allen23 days ago

    And on we go...deeper into the fray...a roller coaster of emotions here. Joke's on who?

  • Jay Kantor23 days ago

    Doc Dc - Good 2/C/U Back Picking-Pokes..! ~ A Fellow-Plot-Picker ~ J-bud

  • Andrei Z.23 days ago

    When I saw this challenge announced I right away recalled this: https://www.reddit.com/r/memes/comments/ijaauy/dialogue_diealog/

  • JBaz23 days ago

    Dana I am as confused as a youung man on his first date. Yet you made me laugh and I dont even know why. You have talent

  • Gerard DiLeo23 days ago

    This was very funny, Monty Python-esque and blue-in-the-face hysterical.

  • D.K. Shepard23 days ago

    This is genius!! Loved reading this hilarious back and forth!

  • Matthew Fromm23 days ago

    Dana again nails the comedy!

  • That was something different, interesting, and fun. Good work, Dana!

  • Paul Stewart23 days ago

    LOL! lamb what lamb...this was hilarious and the minute I read that title and subtitle...I was like.wtf is the old fella up to...then read the line about meter and knew exactly where this was heading! Delightful and irreverent as I would expect!

  • Christy Munson23 days ago

    Mike is right. This one's fun-fun-fun!

  • Great take and great fun

Dana CrandellWritten by Dana Crandell

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.