Poets logo

I Wonder

free verse

By Camillia SimondsPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like
I Wonder
Photo by Emma Trevisan on Unsplash

I wonder what you thought that day

were you sad?

were there tears to match mine

across the space of an ocean?

or were you happy,

eager to serve your country

even if it was to the end?

I couldn’t know

I didn’t but I felt it

the bullet piercing two hearts

I hope you were happy,

that you had read my letter that last night

smiled at the spicy things I wrote

slept with it under your pillow like the others

I hope it didn’t hurt

that an angel didn’t let you go alone

I wish I was there with you

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Camillia Simonds

Stories carry us away. They are the fabric of humanity that holds us together. I'm taking a journey through the magical world of imagination, and I'd like to invite you to join me. Here's to a whole new world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.