Poets logo

I Won’t Be Coming Home for Christmas or Thanksgiving or New Years

Going home meant facing a reality I’d still yet to accept as mine.

By Hailey NarvaezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Home is a four letter word and

my mother washed my mouth out for ones with just three like

Why

Are you drunk? It’s eight in the morning

Don't you love me? It’s not like I’m scorning.

Are the lights off? It’s clear you’re still using.

Don’t you leave him? It’s not like he’s helping.

I tried to make the house a home with hand turkeys,

Prompting the inhabitants to share what they are thankful for,

As we sat, plates full of donated food,

Trash can full of bought bottles.

I went first, hoping to ease the air,

I’m thankful for you all and God and mashed potatoes,

But for once, they stayed quiet.

So no, I won’t be coming home for Christmas,

or Thanksgiving or New Years.

Home is not four walls encompassing a nuclear

Family is not four suckers forced together

By some higher power or God knows — maybe dictated by the stars or the weather

They meant to hurt each other or not really doesn’t matter

Of fact even if they didn’t it wouldn't heal the tattered

Hearts are so fragile; they’ve no foundations like houses.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Hailey Narvaez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.