Poets logo

I wish it were

Summer

By Lilia PetersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wish it were summer

In 2010

When life wasn't as scary

As 2020

I wish it were summer

So I could remember your eyes

I know they sparkled

Under the sunlight

I wish it were summer

And we were inside

Watching the trees

Drift in the wind

The leaves as they turned

The birds as they'd sing

I wish it were summer

And you were still mine

And though I am yours

I am fragmented time

I wish it were summer

And you remembered me

All that we shared

All that we'd be

In the shadows

In the light

Under the sadness

Over the bright

A heart that was mine

A soul that was yours

Forgotten in the burning stars

Left lonely

Left apart

I wish it were summer

And that you didn't forget

All of the obstacles we could have met

Inside and out

My mind knew your temperament

A mutual understanding

Floating between us

Our bodies demanding

Forbidden to trust

I wish it were summer

And you were mine

I wish it were summer

All the time

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lilia Peters

Day to day: I work full time and feel like my brain gets sucked out of my eyes from the joys of retail and health care. But a girls gotta make a living.

I love exercise, music, art, reading and WRITING. Fantasy/Horror/Romance are my jam.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.