Poets logo

I Wish I Could See You One Last Time.

The Sadness Never Goes Away

By Carol TownendPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
4
I Wish I Could See You One Last Time.
Photo by Trym Nilsen on Unsplash

I hear you calling, "I love you, mummy,"

As I sit here drinking my Coffee,

It is always those echos of your voice,

That makes me miss you more.

I pick up your old teddy,

I squeeze it close to my heart,

I can feel you through your teddy,

But still, I feel lonely.

I open up the door,

But the pain hurts a little more;

My garden used to be your playground,

But now, only my tears sound.

How I wish I could see you one last time;

One last time to kiss your sweet cheeks,

One last time to hear, "I love you mommy,"

One last time to watch you play,

One last time to put you to bed.

Those wishes are miles away,

Though not distant in my heart,

It is in my heart,

Where your memories stay,

Safe forever;

Until we meet one day.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    Oh my goodness. I am so sorry. My heart breaks for you.

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Heartbreaking & brilliantly written!!! 💕♥️♥️

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Well written! 😃

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.