Poets logo

I Will Wait For You

When It's Over...

By Whitney SmartPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
I Will Wait For You
Photo by Anaya Katlego on Unsplash

What do I do, now that you're gone?

Over are the glitz and glam and lights and music

Gone is the comfort and solidarity I feel when with you

What do I do now?

You are my greatest distraction and greatest healer

One I desperately need

When I am with you, I don't have to think

I can be a version of myself that is free

You accept me just as I am

You don't require me to be something else

With you, I get to be the real me

But you're gone now

You've left me

And I now live in the grey

In the in-between

I am a facsimile of my former self

The self I am when I'm with you

You allow me to be vulnerable in a world that allows me anything but

You give me the space, place and time to be gentle with myself

To play

To laugh

To dance

To sing

To be happy in my beingness

And every time you leave, there is a tear in my soul

Even though I know you'll be back around again

It still hurts every time you go

I wish it didn't have to be this way

I wish you could be here all the time

But I know enough to know that if you were here at my convenience

I wouldn't treasure and value you as much

There is something about pain, suffering and loss that invokes gratitude

Sometimes, in ways you never imagined it would

So I will wait for you, for you

I will wait for you

To come back around and fill me with joy again

I will wait for the safe space that is you

I will wait for the shelter, emotionally and physically, you provide

I will wait to hear the clarion call of your music

I will wait to hear the call of my tribe

I will wait for the time to congregate and fellowship in unity and harmony once more

I will wait for the time to be served and poured in to

I will wait for the time to be loved

Unabashedly and unconditionally

I will wait for the time to be truly seen and heard

And I will never take a moment of it for granted

I will wait for you

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Whitney Smart

Certified Life Coach & Workshop Facilitator specializing in Self-Awareness, Emotional Intelligence and Emotional Resilience coaching. I also write a sometimes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.