Poets logo

I will tell you what your future holds

(its with me, silly!)

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
I will tell you what your future holds
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

You buzzed past me one day

you were a playful ball of energy

I asked my friend what was your deal,

He said, "Oh, he's just a Gemini, don't mind him!"

I rolled my eyes but----I

looked it up anyway.

One day

in between

classes

we finally talked

you told me your birthday and

your name, Justin and

June 19th

And I wrote you this poem

to tell you that

I don't believe in Astrology

but I think I know your future

I see you always running around, chatting

gossiping and laughing

with girls on your arm

and guys all around

Yet you seem so unhappy sometimes

your smile lights up everything, the whole room, the whole world

but your deep, amber eyes seem so sad

I read that your sign's symbol is a twin

But,

Where is that perfect match for you?

Someone to match your vibrant airs

your crazy, long stories with those silly little plot holes

and funny jokes

your thoughtful little remarks in class--yes I heard you.

You are smart.

I wonder if you know my sign?

Well---Justin,

I predict something for you:

You'll be something great.

You will be something that involves communication---

mainly you will be a newscaster or TV personality

I can see it.

But more than that: you are great, sign or not.

Once you get past how boisterous

and fast

and crazy you seem

you really are something else

Justin,

you are my Gemini dream

I looked it up

and to be fair

I am a Pisces

that is a "not a match"

And I don't think you'd like

my annoying restlessness, after-all

and all my little weird quirks

But I think that somehow

we might just work.

I think that Astrology is a funny thing

they seem to pinpoint

very trivial parts of a person

but not the soul

not the heart

I think that me as a Pisces, and as you,

a Gemini,

we can combine into a Super-Sign

something Fantastic

and New,

and loving---

and defeat the odds,

a (metaphorical)marriage of will and power,

something beautiful even

if it is flawed.

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.